Czesław Lang - history

Czesław Lang

Born on May 17, 1955 in Kołczygłowy in the Land of Słupsk. A member of LZS Baszta Bytów (1970-1977 first coach Euzebiusz Marciniak) and Legia Warszawa (1977-82). Two time Olympics participant: Montreal (1976): 5th place in the 4-km team track race, Moscow (1980): silver medal in the individual road race. Nine-time Polish Champion, winner of Tour de Pologne (1980). Double WC medallist in team 100-km race: 1977 - bronze, 1979 - silver. He took part in the Peace Race four times.

1982-1989 Professional cyclist.

Contracts with the following teams: GIS-Olmo, Carrera, Del Tongo-Colnago, Malvor, and Sidi Colnago.

He participated in Giro d´Italia nine times, and in Tour de France three times, together with the biggest Italian cyclists - Francesco Moser, Giuseppe Saroni, and Roberto Visentini. In total, he won 30 professional races, including the Baracchi Trophy together with Lech Piasecki (unofficial world champion in two-man team time trial), and Tirreno-Adriatico, Tour de Romandie, Volta Catalunya Prologues; he also won in the ‘golden kilometer’ in Mestre, and in two team stages of Giro d'Italia.

Sportsman, manager, businessman, social activist.

First cyclist from the former ‘Eastern Bloc’ to sign a professional contract. Owner and chairman of the Lang Team Company. Originator and director of Tour de Pologne (from 1993), Grand Prix MTB, Skandia Maraton Lang Team. Polish road and offroad cycling promoter at home and abroad. He managed to raise our national amateur Tour de Pologne race to the rank of a world elite part of the UCI WorldTour cycle.

Member of the Committee for Professional Sport Council, Member of the International Association of Cycling Race Organizers (AIOCC), President of Professional Cyclist Association in 1986-1989.


Hobby: horseback riding, hunting, skiing, travels.
Owner of the Barnowo estate in the Słupia Valley.

Tour de Pologne and its director, Czesław Lang, have received multiple awards from prestigious bodies. TDP received the “Best Sport Event of The Year” title in Poland in 1995, 1996, 2004, 2008 and 2011.